top of page

A REALITY CHECK.

So far in my 90 years I have never required hospital or surgical treatment but four days before my departure to the World Masters Games in Auckland New Zealand I had the misfortune to break off the tip of my right elbow. My initial thought was ‘thank goodness, my legs are OK’. Knew that it meant hospital treatment but it never occurred to me to cancel my flight and my Masters Games plans – had travel insurance but was still determined to go. Part of my psyche I guess.

The local hospital was my first port of call where I restricted them to X-rays of my elbow, not my head and shoulders as they suggested. Knew that this was my prerogative. Then a heavy plaster cast was placed on my arm. It was comfortable and without any pain and was eventually driven to the Nepean Hospital where an orthopaedic surgeon was available. The medical staff there had their list of questions, which amused me no end, they didn’t know anything about me, so when asked ‘Do you use a walker, have home care, or meals on wheels!! I told them not to treat me like a 90 year old!! They did get quite a surprise when informed of my way of life and sporting activities.

They decided to keep me without food in case there was an opportunity to operate later that day. Then three cannulas were inserted in my left hand and they started the first of many blood tests. Eventually spoke to the surgeon who would perform the operation and requested only a local anaesthetic if possible, but he did not think this could be done. From then on it was a waiting game, but later learned that the operation was set for the following day and did finally get something to eat, but nothing after midnight.

I actually had a comfortable night in spite of them taking yet another blood test but was up early in the morning race walking through the long corridors practicing whether it was possible to compete wearing a plaster cast or not. Was happy to discover that while dressing might be difficult that the cast would be doable.

Finally the moment came when I was taken to the operating room but first spoke to the anaesthetist and discussed the risks involved.My Mother-in law, like me when 90 years of age had also never been in hospital or had surgery during her life, but did not survive after a general anaesthetic. There were no guarantees he said but my way of life and fitness were to my advantage. So was very happy to wake up in the recovery room, glad to be back in the land of the living and more especially happy because I was only bandaged.

Then came the inevitable infusions of anti-biotics and more blood tests andit seemed to go on forever. It meant a second night in hospital but did sleep well and only woke around 5 a.m. when my arm was coming round and getting uncomfortable. Not knowing quite what pain to expect I buzzed the nurse who gave me two panodol and an endone tablet. Not being a pill popper I have not taken anything since or needed to.

Then I had to get out of there, and that was harder than anticipated, so the day dragged on until about mid afternoon when all the discharge papers were in order allowing me to leave.

My packing had already been done which enabled me to take it easy until the next day when leaving to catch my flight,

After arriving in Auckland I had four days before my first competition and meant to take it easy and relax as much as possible. However, I did feel strange and not quite myself and had absolutely no appetite. Mingling with the 28,000 competitors from overseas was a new experience and my largest Masters Games and it took my mind off my physical problems. So glad to be there and just a small part of it was wonderful.

Unfortunately I felt unwell the night before Anzac Day and had no sleep, so early in themorning took a taxi to the Auckland Hospital and needed to see a doctor.

Of course, it was back to more blood tests and more questions and was kept there for nine hours, finally leaving very late that day and too late for me to compete that evening in my first event. On the Wednesday the 3k walk event was scheduled for 12.20 p.m. so I arrived at the Trust Arena Track and Field Venue early in readiness for the start. When the gun went off I did start well at first but found myself unable to maintain a good pace, finishing in over 27 mins and my slowest time ever. To say I was disappointed would be an understatement and just could not understand why. It was the same in the 5k walk on the Friday, had no energy and finished once again in my slowest time, but still received two gold medals for my efforts but they will never be engraved.

Since arriving home and seeing my own doctor it was explained to me that I was still feeling the effects of the operation plus all the anti-bioticsand was the reason for my poor performance. It was also fortunate that I did not take any of the endone tablets prescribed for me after leaving the hospital as being an opiate meant disqualification had I been drug tested at the Games.

After all the dramas and disappointment there was such a great respect for the older athletes amongst all the younger competitors and I was photographed everywhere I went, bus, train, station, cafe and the track. It was priceless to experience the camaraderie and the warmth emanating from so many different countries from around the world.

My dream of breaking another record will have to wait but this was still the experience of a lifetime and one that will never be forgotten. Sometimes it’s not all about winning but the journey along the way.


bottom of page