top of page

Relay for Life "No 14 "

Friends and those who know me know of my personal achievements, however, my dedication to the Relay for Life, walking over the 24 hours to fundraise for Cancer Research takes ‘pride of place’. This will be my 14th year participating with the Relay and once again it will be in memory of my husband and the many friends who have been struck down by this most devastating disease. As one of the ‘lucky ones’ fit and able I feel that it is my duty.

At the start of April I was the ‘active’ Ambassador in the Seniors Festival and incredibly large banners of myself and other Ambassadors were flying throughout Martin Place in Sydney, when I first saw them I was flabbergasted but also an incredibly proud 89 year old. My message was to be active and with a sensible diet to have a better ‘quality of life’ in ones declining years.

Following on from the Festival I have recently returned home after competing in the Masters Games Championships in Adelaide where I received three gold medals for the three events I had entered. I was the oldest female competitor with two male hammer throwers in their early 90’s. It was the consensus of opinion that I am now the oldest female race walker in Australia and I am being spurred on by everyone to compete in the upcoming World Masters Games to be held in Perth W.A. in Oct/Nov this year. My 90th Birthday will be about 11 days after the Games finish otherwise I would be chasing new Australian and World Records in a new age group. It will most certainly be on my ‘bucket list!!’

Back to the Relay, if anyone reading this would like to donate to my Relay Team or perhaps someone who can no longer walk but would like me to walk for them, then I will most certainly do so. It is always a memorable experience and everyone there has the same strength of purpose and I’m always very proud to be one of them.

Link below to support the HEATHER and the Cancer Council

https://secure.fundraising.cancer.org.au/site/Donation2?idb=1025886438&1521.donation=form1&df_id=1521&FR_ID=3921&mfc_pref=T&PROXY_ID=1081562&PROXY_TYPE=20


bottom of page