top of page

Fitbit Addiction.


I was given a Fitbit last October which I soon discovered is a marvellous piece of technology. It’s a great motivator that keeps me on my toes constantly. It counts my steps and the distance I’ve covered, it takes my heart rate (beats per minute), it checks the calories I’ve burned, tracks my exercise and the active minutes, I can set a weight goal and start a food plan, even the number of glasses of water I’ve drunk and of course my sleep pattern. It’s all so very interesting and I can check any of this with the press of a button any time of the day or night. I’ve now become a slave to my Fitbit- it’s such a challenge to see how many steps I walk each day, it certainly keeps me moving knowing that every move I make is being recorded and I watch as the distance creeps up. It’s the complete trainer, even a critic and most certainly a whip cracker. I wake up and the first thing I do is check the Fitbit for my sleep pattern and then it reminds me that I should be out training, not lying in bed. I put more effort into training, knowing that I am being watched, so to speak and it has kept me honest. Everyone should have one if they are keen, either to keep fit and particularly if they want to lose weight, and I can promise that the Fitbit will keep them focussed and soon the benefits will be completely felt. Of course there are the Awards that are challenges one can’t resist and the competition between friends this creates, seeing who can be the first to reach the goal the Award sets. It has completely taken over my life and how I live it – it’s there on record on my mobile phone and my computer. Yes I am a Fitbit addict – and I’ve just reached the 1,000 klms or 1,540,529 steps since 18th October 2015. My first stepping stone but not my last.


bottom of page