top of page

”THE ULTIMATE CHALLENGE. “Easter weekend April 2015

“After experiencing a stress foot fracture last year I was coaxed to attempt to break records in running events at the Masters Games. This, of course, appealed to my competitive nature and I have already broken the age group records in the 400m, 800m and 1,500m Runs when competing at the Pan Pac Games in November. With this under my belt, why not chase the 3k, 5k and the 10k events, it seems so logical and I’ve registered in the 5k and 10k Run events in the Masters Games to be held at Easter.

Serious training started before Xmas last year, a strenuous schedule made difficult by the constant humid weather conditions, however, I am nothing if not determined, the ‘carrot’ is far too tempting and training times have been very encouraging. The ‘carrot’ is a World Record in the 10k and longer distance, but failing that there is an unclaimed Australian Record up for grabs. The temptation is overwhelming and will be my ‘ultimate challenge’ and I’m not expecting it to be easy. I’m required to attempt to run and not predominantly walk the race and have trained accordingly with a 50/50 style which at 88 years of age would daunt most people. Confidence remains high while I try to balance my level of fitness, constantly reminded that muscle strains are always ‘on the cards.’ Will I master this challenge? Can’t wait to ‘give it a go’.

.

bottom of page